IEHS Online

Travel Grants

Travel grants are awarded to two IEHS members each year to be used toward costs of attending the OAH/IEHS Annual Meeting. The successful candidates will be members of IEHS in good standing, be participating in OAH/IEHS programs as presenters or commentators and/or IEHS committee meetings, and have little or no institutional support for conference travel.  Preference will be given to graduate students, adjunct faculty, and junior t/t faculty.  Each travel grant provides $1,000 and may be used to cover costs of airfare, hotel, and conference registration.

Recipients will be notified by February 1, 2020 and will receive checks for their travel grants when they attend the IEHS dinner, usually convened on the Friday evening of the OAH-IEHS Annual Meeting.

Qualifications: Membership in IEHS; proof of participation in the OAH/IEHS program; demonstrated lack of institutional support for conference travel.

Required Information:

  • Statement of no more than 200 words about how the applicants envision attending the annual meeting will help prepare them for a career in history.
  • c.v. (please be sure to include the following information: current and permanent addresses, educational background, degrees achieved and expected, current institution, current status)
  • Documentation of lack of or limited conference travel funds [i.e. letter from department chair or advisor]
  • Documentation of participation in OAH/IEHS program
  • Proposed budget

The final decision will be made by the IEHS Travel Grants Committee by February prior to each OAH.  The winner will be provided with details regarding the OAH Annual Meeting and the IEHS dinner, where the grants will be presented. Each recipient will also receive a certificate.

Please indicate “IEHS Travel Grant Application” in the subject line and send materials in Microsoft Word format by midnight (EST) on December 15, 2019 to each of the committee members listed below.

List of committee members

Maddalena Marinari (chair), Gustavus Adolphus College:

Jane Hong, Occidental College:

Simeon Man, University of California, San Diego:

2020 Winners: Hannah Greene (Ph.D. candidate, Skirball Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies, New York University); Daniel Morales (Assistant Professor, Department of History, James Madison University):