IEHS Online

Graduate Student Blog Prize and Other Awards

The Graduate Student Blog Prize is awarded to a graduate student in the field of immigration and ethnic history for the best contribution to the IEHS Online blog.

Previous Recipients

2015: Alina Mendez

2016: Kelly Lyons

2017: Gerson Rosales

2018: Asher Lubotsky

2019: Emiliano Aguilar

Prior to 2016, the IEHS was a co-sponsor of the John Higham Research Fellowship. This fellowship is open to all graduate students writing doctoral dissertations for a Ph.D. in American history. Applicants pursuing research in those fields most congenial to the research and writing interests of John Higham will receive special consideration. These topics include U.S. social and intellectual history broadly considered, with preference given to research projects on American immigration and ethnic history as well as American historiography, and the cultural history of the nineteenth-century U.S.  For the most up to date information, visit:

Previous Recipients


Victoria Cain, Columbia University
Christopher McKnight Nicols, University of Virginia
Nicholas G. Rosenthal, University of California, Los Angeles


Brian Behnken, University of California, Davis
Evan Matthew Daniel, New School for Social Research
Robert McGreevey, Brandeis University


Maddalena Marinari, University of Kansas
Erick Schlereth, Brandeis University
Stephen Mak, Northwestern University


Gustavo Licon, University of Southern California
Stacy L. Bondurant, George Washington University
Mayumi Hoshino, Indiana University


Hidetaka Hirota, Boston College
Donald W. Maxwell, Indiana University
Elaine Nelson, University of New Mexico


Aaron Cavin, University of Michigan
Shira Miriam Kohn, New York University
Julian Lim, Cornell University


Mimi Cowan, Boston College
Joseph Solomon Moore II, University of North Carolina-Greensboro
William Sturkey, Ohio State University


Aaron Bryant, University of Maryland
Cynthia Greenlee-Donnell, Duke University


Kritika Agarwal, SUNY Buffalo;
Grainne McEvoy, Boston College
Adam Goodman , University of Pennsylvania


Brandon Gauthier, Fordham University
Kristina Karin Shull, University of California, Irvine
Israel Pastrana, University of California, San Diego


Adrienne Winans, Ohio State University
Daniel Morales, Columbia University
Preston McBride, University of California, Los Angeles

For information on winners after 2015, visit: